With this distinction, first awarded in 1992, the Yacht Club de Monaco publicly recognises the endeavours of leading figures in the maritime world, be it for competition, the environment, science, safeguarding maritime heritage or the nautical industry.


In a year that has seen numerous offshore events, the 2017 Personnalité de la Mer prize will be awarded to a sailor who has recently distinguished themselves in this discipline. The Yacht Club de Monaco will present the trophy to the winner at the La Belle Classe party on Friday 15th September, held during Monaco Classic Week.

You have until 1st July 2017 to vote for one of three nominees by clicking here. You may also put forward a fourth personality of your choice should you wish.
The trophy will be presented by Sir Robin Knox-Johnston, Jury President for Monaco Classic Week 2017, who was the first man to sail solo non-stop round the world and the second person to win the Jules Verne Trophy.


Previous recipients:

1992 | Nigel Burgess
1993 | Prof François Doumenge
1994 | Pierre Fehlmann
1995 | Isabelle Autissier
1996 | Eric Tabarly
1997 | S.M. Le Roi Juan Carlos de Borbon
1999 | S.A. le prince Karim Aga Khan
2001 | Grant Dalton

2003 | Philip Plisson
2005 | Carlo Riva
2007 | Jean Louis Etienne
2009 | Mike Horn
2011 | Jacques Perrin
2013 | Sir Robin Knox Johnston
2015 | Catherine Chabaud 


On 26th December 2016, the skipper of the maxi-trimaran Sodebo smashed the solo round the world record, arriving home after 49 days, 3 hours, 7 minutes and 38 seconds. He therefore beat Francis Joyon’s record by eight and a half days. Winner of the Route de Rhum in 1998, the Transat Jacques Vabre in 1999 and the Volvo Ocean Race in 2012, Thomas Coville is one of the most talented sailors of his generation.


Winner of the 2017 Vendée Globe on the mono-hull Banque Populaire in 74 days, 3 hours, 35 minutes and 46 seconds on 19 January 2017, Armel le Cléac’h has racked up an impressive tally. Among his achievements are the IMOCA World Champion title in 2008, two victories in the Solitaire du Figaro and two wins in the Transat AG2R. He is the first sailor to achieve a place on the Vendée Globe podium three times.


On 26th January 2017, Francis Joyon on his maxi-trimaran IDEC SPORT beat the round the world in a team record with a time of 40 days, 23 hours, 30 minutes and 30 seconds, winning the Jules Verne Trophy in the process. He made his mark in 2004 as the first sailor to circumnavigate the globe non-stop and solo on a multi-hull.


A fourth personality?